Mini Reviews: For Love of Mother-Not, Not a Girl Detective, Shakespeare's Landlord, Where I'd Like to Be

For Love of Mother-NotFor Love of Mother-Not by Alan Dean Foster
Publication: Ballantine Books (March 26, 2002), ebook
Genre: Sci-fi
Rating:
Find @ Amazon or other places one can buy ebooks
Read: June 2009

Another freebie from Suvudu, For Love of Mother-Not is a good book but because it’s not the true first book in the series, it’s kinda boring as an opener. I liked it, and I’ll read the next book, but I wouldn’t actually recommend reading it first if you’re interested in the series. (Read this one first, instead.)

Not a Girl Detective Not A Girl Detective (Cece Caruso Mysteries #2) by Susan Kandel
Publication: William Morrow (May 24, 2005), Hardback, 304 pages / ISBN 0060581077
Genre: Mystery
Rating:
Find @ Amazon or IndieBound
Read: June 2009

Fun cozy mystery with no cats, an older female character who wears heels and dresses instead of sweatpants, and Nancy Drew (kinda). The mystery itself was good, the characters were cute but not entirely flushed out, and I loved the parts where Cece, the protagonist, talks about Nancy Drew and the woman who modeled her for the book covers. I’m a research nut, and that really pulled the book together for me.

Shakespeare's LandlordShakespeare’s Landlord (Lily Bard Mysteries #1) by Charlaine Harris
Publication: Berkley Prime Crime (November 1, 2005), Mass Market Paperback, 214 pages / ISBN 0425206866
Genre: Mystery
Rating:
Find @ Amazon or IndieBound
Read: June 2009

I loved the Southern Vampire Mysteries and I wanted to love this book, too. Unfortunately, I didn’t. I didn’t really care about any of the characters, including the protagonist, and it almost felt like their mysterious pasts simply existed to shock. It wasn’t fun (it was actually kind of depressing), though the mystery part was good, and I was bored a lot of the time. If it wasn’t so short I don’t think I would have finished reading it. Oh well.

Where I'd Like to BeWhere I’d Like to Be by Frances O’Roark Dowell
Publication: Atheneum (July 27, 2004), Paperback, 240 pages / ISBN 0689870671
Genre: Fiction, Children’s/YA
Rating:
Find @ Amazon or IndieBound
Read: June 2009

I have a thing for books about orphans that aren’t goody two-shoes and/or made of sugar and angel feathers (or whatever). Where I’d Like to Be isn’t full of little monsters, but instead it stars kids that seem like real people, with depth and layers. It’s a bittersweet story, but not depressing or without hope.

Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: For Love of Mother-Not, Not a Girl Detective, Shakespeare's Landlord, Where I'd Like to Be”

    1. lol, nope! It wasn’t on the library shelf with #2, and I didn’t realize Not A Girl Detective was #2 until after I finished reading it. *cough* (Doesn’t say it anywhere on the actual book for some reason…)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.